Block 386: March 28, 2014

IMG_5961

Relief and relaxation.

Now, we wait.

Date: March 28, 2014

Crane: 386

Days Spent on Project: 404

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Kate B.

Kate was the props runner at the Yale Repertory Theatre when I was a student at the Yale School of Drama. (She still is too.)

When I was a student there, with all the work-study hours I spent backstage at that theater assisting on the wardrobe crew, how cool were those four ladies? Elizabeth (wardrobe), Janet (stage carp), Jeanne (sound board), and Kate: pretty awesome people, enjoyed working together, and somehow made all the madness of running a regional theater on top of existing within a drama school bubble fun and enjoyable.

While I was just a student, I really liked hanging out with all of them. Still do, in fact.

Music I listened to while sewing: Two artists today, courtesy of Spotify (You’d think Spotify were sponsoring this little project with all the mentions I give them, but no…). I spent the first half of the process (cutting the pieces out) listening to Kodomo. Now I’m listening to a “new release” by Sleeper Agent.

Don’t know who either of them are, so I guess I’ve already learned something today.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Two things.

Learned yesterday that I will not be designing the show I interviewed for last week. I was in the running to design for a cruise ship, and I was recommended by an agent. This would have been awesome on two accounts. One- a cruise ship show meant I could have done something “glamorous” and pretty and musical for a specific audience… as I was told “upper-middle class and retired.” Would have been fun, but was told that my designs aren’t “Vegas” enough for their visions. Two- an agent has actually taken an interest in my work and is trying to get my name out there. That’s even more awesome. So, with that minor rejection, I do have a bit of a consolation prize.

And then the second thought? Yesterday’s interview is done. I prepared enough- the right amount- although I wish I had spent about a half hour more on practicing my lecture. (It went well, but I rushed one section. I did get everyone engaged though, which was the main goal).

It was tiring. I never realized how draining an interview can be… especially when they last six hours.

And now I feel like I have a huge weight taken off my chest. It’s time to wait, I guess.

In the meantime, I have two dance pieces to work on before heading to California in 30 days. I can’t believe it’s almost here!

Fingers crossed.

 

 

Please leave a reply!

