Block 204: September 16, 2013

IMG_4794

 

Well, today has been a 17 hour day. I’ve been up and going and traveling and meeting and shopping and traveling back since 4am. It’s after 9pm.

I’m so ready for the day to be done.

Date: September 16, 2013

Crane: 204

Days Spent on Project: 211

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC and Providence, RI

Person I would have sent it to: I’d like to send this one to Lauren P.

Another one of the Faculty Associates my first year at the National High School Institute, she was a junior at Princeton, if I remember correctly.

She had the most amazing, dry sense of humor. I’m not sure we were great friends, or even how often we got the chance to hang out that summer, but I enjoyed any time I could get involved in a conversation with her, just to see what she would say.

Music I listened to while sewing: I made a playlist of music that I hope will inspire me to keep working on the project that will happen in May. I know it’s a long way off, but the scope and idea behind the project are a little inspiring. So, I’m listening to some Ricky Nelson, the Original Dixieland Jazz Band, Leadbelly, Hellhound, PJ Harvey, and Ray Charles. It’s all over the place, but that’s how I feel right now!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Like I said above, today has been long and full of many different emotions. I actually can’t wait to get in bed, but that might be an hour or so away at this point…

I have so many things to catch up on tonight first.

Things I learned today… Even though the project that took me to Providence, RI is not ideal (the show opens in 4 weeks and I just had my first design meeting! there’s not much money! today was the first day of rehearsal!), I’m happy to be back with that company. I get along with them, and I was laughing along with them and joking with them within minutes of being back. The idea of comfort and ease and FRIENDLINESS goes a long way.

I also learned that my dog and I are two peas in a pod. I knew I’d be gone for more than 14 hours or so, so I asked a friend to visit, walk him, play with him, and feed him. The Dog, it seems, did not like this plan and let my friend now by hiding under the bed, refusing to walk with her outside, and staring at her from the corner of the room. Sometimes, I forget how much I’m a part of his life and how much he occupies *my* thoughts. I felt guilty all day leaving him like this. I left my friend a three page note, describing his routine and how I feed him, walk with him, etc. When my friend called to describe his aloof behavior, I knew exactly what he was doing and why he was acting that way. My dog and I are clearly in a relationship.

This means I need to get out more. Clearly.

I also learned that I still like designing costumes. I want to do this. I want more opportunities like this.

I also learned that when I’m keyed into a project or an idea, I’ll want to work on it regardless of how tired I am or how much money is involved. I’ll want to do it. This makes me feel better, strangely.

Okay, nothing deep this evening. But I need to make myself dinner and I’m going to sit down and hopefully get to bed before midnight.

I have to get up and keep going tomorrow as well.

Cheers.

One thought on “Block 204: September 16, 2013

Please leave a reply!