Block 983: April 2, 2016

IMG_8072

Such a glorious day outside!

Spring is finally here!

Date: April 2, 2016

Crane: 983

Days Spent on Project: 1137

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: Carly Rae Jepsen’s album from last year again.

It’s still really good.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Didn’t sleep through the night. Couldn’t manage to get myself to bed and in bed until late for no reason. Didn’t feel very well or good for whatever reason.

The Dog and I got up by 7am and took a walk while the sun was still coming up.

Made coffee. Went to the gym. Did more laundry. Got my hair cut. Took a nap. Started Great Expectations. Took my dog to the park where he passed out in the sun for an hour.

The sun makes everything so much better.

I’m sitting in a chair on my balcony and looking out towards downtown Portland and the Fremont bridge in the distance. The trees in the neighborhood are budding with small leaves and flowers filling in long-empty branches; still, the bridge’s arch manages to peak out above them.

When I lived in Brooklyn, the Verrazano Bridge was in the near-distance outside my bedroom window. The scale of it, even in the 20 block distance, was grand enough that the view like a painted scenic drop at times. My last apartment in New York, up in Washington Heights, was around the corner of the George Washington Bridge. My neighbors’s apartment views were stuff of a million-dollar-listing; it was awesome to watch the consistent traffic and movement on that bridge from their apartment.

I can’t see any traffic on the Fremont but, as I can and do when I walk to work in the morning and walk over the 405.

Tonight the goal is to get better sleep. To that end, maybe more reading and maybe some Netflix and maybe some clothes shopping online to replace some things that need replacing.

Sounds boring, maybe, but I need it to be today.

 

Please leave a reply!

