Block 948: February 27, 2016

IMG_7885

Happy Birthday, to me…

Date: February 27, 2016

I started this project 9 days before my 34th birthday. On my 33rd birthday, I spent the evening with three friends at Sleep No More, my second trip and the one wherein I fell hard down the rabbit hole, and then drinking Margaritas at Trailer Park on 23rd Street. (When I went back to New York last September, on my one free night, I made a point to go there for margaritas [and tater tots because it’s a restaurant called Trailer Park] to sit for hours and have random friends come and meet me. It’s not a great place, but it’s strangely one of those/my places in the city that always seems to deliver on a good time.) On my 34th birthday, I stitched the day’s Crane together late at night, barely making the evening deadline. I was living in Washington Heights then… I don’t think I did anything special that night. On my 35th birthday, 2014, my dog and I wore birthday hats that night. Last year, on my 36th birthday, it was the Opening Night for one of the theater’s most infamous shows; one of the actresses threw a temper tantrum hours before curtain because she hated the costume the designer had given her. A team of us went out shopping to replace it with anything that would appease her and get her to perform. She ended up giving her two weeks notice right before the show opened. I left to go home before the play started… and had a drink.

Funny to think that the theater will always remember my birthday as the day “That Actress Quit” and sent an email to the entire company about it…

Crane: 948

Days Spent on Project: 1102

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: Trying to soak in some of the weekly suggestions from Spotify, but still trying to find something exciting for today.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Truthfully, no one really knows it’s my birthday in Portland. I’m not sad or upset about it, to be honest. I’ve been getting texts and emails and Facebook messages all day from friends from many different areas of the country.

It’s incredibly heartwarming to know that people miss me and think of me and want me to enjoy the day.

It’s nice to know that people do exist out there like that.

Feeling good and happy today.

Let’s see what year 37 has in store!

Please leave a reply!

