Block 941: February 20, 2016

IMG_7816

Saturday morning in Portland, OR and the sun came out. My dog and I are sitting on my balcony. I’m drinking coffee; he’s rolling around on a pillow that’s being hit by a sunbeam.

I think he needs the Vitamin D more that I do.

Date: February 20, 2016

Crane: 941

Days Spent on Project: 1095

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: Currently listening to the birds that are chirping outside my balcony. I guess winter in Portland really is almost over by mid-February.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Went out for drinks last night with another designer who’s in town. She designed one show this season with us; I enjoyed her work and working with her, and I think she’s the kind of designer both the theater- and my shop- would benefit working with.

Over two and a half hours, we covered a lot.

I learned, I guess, that they haven’t contacted her about working with us next season. I find it strange that scenic designers and lighting designers are already in place… but there’s been no mention of who the costume designers. At all.

Finished reading The Science of Happiness. Meh. My big takeaway yesterday was that having an un-stimulating job can actually lead to depression in much the same way that an overly stimulating and demanding job can lead to stress and anxiety. Which I thought interesting because of the repeated bouts of boredom and Nothing To Do at work where you slog through a five day work week followed by the intense weeks of 80 hours and no time and employee conflict. It swings on a pendulum here- crazy/boring, tedium/details, time/no-time; maybe that’s another problem here? They don’t know how to schedule things so that there’s a consistency of work throughout the year and there aren’t enough resources when you do have the work?

Also, that book has convinced me that I won’t lead a very long life. Every negative thing in it seems to be a part of my daily life. Between living alone, dramatic environment shifts (moving across the country), freelancing, stress because of work, financial problems, lack of community (hello, Portland)… it seems like the cards are now stacked against me.

I don’t recommend the book.

Anyway, it’s Saturday and I’m doing three loads of laundry. Must stay busy…

Please leave a reply!

