Block 939: February 18, 2016

IMG_7810

This is my three year anniversary of this project.

I sewed my first Crane on February 18, 2013.

IMG_3714

There’s proof. The first picture I took of this undertaking.

Date: February 18, 2016

Crane: 939

Days Spent on Project: 1093 (I think this means this number is wrong? Must have lost track during the periods when I had to abandon this because of Life and Work.)

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: Sia has a new album! Has it really been almost two years since “Chandelier” exploded onto the radio? I’ve been listening to the song “I’m Alive” on repeat since last night.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: My parents sent me a book called The Science of Happiness a few weeks ago. I started reading it on Monday, after I finished with the Alexander Hamilton biography. I’m almost done with it; after the density of early American politics, this reading is a breeze to do!

I have to say that it’s enlightening.

I have to say that it’s not necessary encouraging.

I have never felt like my emotions are as out of my hands as I have after reading this book. If a body’s emotion and my feelings (pleasure and happiness) are entirely by-products of chemicals and neurons being able to work properly, how can I really fix things that possibly aren’t functioning?

How can I fix something that might possibly be ingrained into the chemical make-up of my body and the structure of my brain?

How can I fix something that my body… just… does?

I’m sure this is meant to be inspiring and educational, but… damn… do I feel at a loss now.

2 thoughts on “Block 939: February 18, 2016

  1. Congratulations on making progress for 3 years. I look forward to seeing your cranes each day. I purchased the pattern recently so I’ll be making some of my own soon -although I’m new to paper piecing so I’m pretty sure I won’t be making 1000 of them. :-). I folded 1000 origami cranes that were used to create an anniversary gift for my parents several years ago and that was quite a challenge! Thanks for the inspiration.

Please leave a reply!

