Block 935: February 14, 2016

IMG_7798

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone.

Date: February 14, 2016

Crane: 935

Days Spent on Project: 1089

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: Ok GO!

I want to fly through zero gravity sometime…

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Went out to dinner with the designer from Seattle last night. She brought along an actor friend of hers from Seattle who was curious about our theater’s work.

The three of us went to see the closing performance of Show Number Six this afternoon.

We closed the restaurant last night. Dinner lasted five hours. I may have been a bit hungover this morning…

We all met at the theater today, an hour before curtain to see some of the progress on The Dress Project that was on display in the lobby.

We went to the Starbucks next door after the play- before they caught the train back to Seattle- to talk about the show.

Such a great 24 hours. Such great conversation. So nice to be out to dinner with people and talk for five hours about theater and design and acting and life and the pacific northwest and plans and careers and new york and schools and jobs and so on. So nice to be able to critique and talk and plan. So nice!

If I had people like that here in Portland- if I had people to meet up with for casual and fun and interesting and ambitious here in Portland- can you imagine how different I’d feel about living here?

Some plans: I need to get to Seattle. I need to extend my sphere to there. I need to advertise myself there. I need to keep working to continue my progress and plans here in Portland, but I need to remember that my world is more than the area of Portland that I live and work in. It can be and could be and should be so much larger. There’s more to do… it might not be here… but there is more for me elsewhere.

I still want to work in theater and design and make choices and be a part of a team and make interesting things. I want that. There’s no reason that being in Portland means that part of my life- that desire- is over.

Maybe opportunity is three hours to the north by train actually.

Anyway, such a great weekend… even if I’ve been a little hungover all day…

Please leave a reply!

