Block 932: February 11, 2016

IMG_7779

Today at work, I am reading the Hamilton biography. Seems like a productive use of my time, right?

Date: February 11, 2016

Crane: 932

Days Spent on Project: 1086

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: Ok Go released a new video and my long held talent crush on them has been reignited.

It may seem rude, but I’ve got my headphones on in my office just so I can blast this song into my ears.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I turned in six of my (many) portfolios to my production manager yesterday, and I told him I will always consider myself a costume designer- first and foremost. I see myself as a creator, an artist, and someone who has pursued this professionally for 15 years. I may be managing a costume shop now- and doing it well to be blunt- but my passion in life is designing. I left the portfolios with him.

He said he’ll set up a meeting with the Artistic and Associate Artistic Director soon.

I’m staying here. For the moment, I am staying here.

If something better comes along, I will take it.

Something better: something better would be a situation where I have the ability to take outside work and do work that I want to do, rather than be in a situation where time and my schedule isn’t in my control. Maybe it’s design. Maybe it’s The California Project. It might be both.

Anyway. I’m hoping that things get more stimulating here. I want to grow.

I want them to grow too.

Please leave a reply!

