Block 922: February 1, 2016

IMG_7734

I took a nap at work today. I don’t think anyone knows.

I figured out today that we have nine weeks until we start building the last show of the season. What are we going to do for nine weeks?!

Date: February 1, 2016

Crane: 922

Days Spent on Project: 1076

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: Still listening to Netsky on Spotify. Today I like the song “Puppy.” Pretty fun.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Besides talking a nap in the morning behind my office desk, I’ve taken my dog out TWICE during the day. My dog is acting fairly confident at work. He’s actually walked around the second floor all by himself.

I can always tell where he is because people greet him excitedly as he wanders into rooms here.

I also spent some time chatting with a friend on Facebook, as well. I haven’t spoke to her since the summer, I think. She asked me if Portland was treating me any better. I answered that it was, and that I had embraced this place and this time in my life as a place and time to refocus on what I want in general and what I want to accomplish specifically in life.

I think that’s about as honest as I can be.

Things are fine here. And certain things about this work and this city are giving me a sense of comfort that I never felt in New York. Getting paid regularly means I’m no longer always hunting for work and desperate for money. I can relax in that regard. Seeing so many different designers come through this shop and this theater is giving me a further master class in design that I never would have realized was an unintended perk of this job. Meeting so many actors and working with them as fast as we do is teaching me how to interact with them effectively. Working and managing and leading my own department is teaching me how to delegate, how to let go, how to budget, how to organize, and how to partner is ways I never thought about.

This is a good place to be for the moment.

We’ll see how long this moment lasts.

Okay, I’m falling asleep again. It’s only 5pm. One more hour to kill before I go home!

Please leave a reply!

