Block 915: January 25, 2016

IMG_7715

Sometimes I can’t believe I’ve made as many of these as I have.

And I haven’t repeated a combo yet!

Date: January 25, 2016

Crane: 915

Days Spent on Project: 1069

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: I gave the costume shop the day off today. I still needed to go in to take care of payroll and receipts for the show we just opened. As I was the only one in the shop, I blasted guilty pop music in the room… something the ladies would never let me do!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I also went to work for one other reason… the scene shop was having their own Opening Night celebration for the Show Number Six that opened on Friday. At 1pm, a few of us drove over there to hang out.

I think there is a growing movement at work- within the theater- to bridge the divides between all the other departments. I think there are enough of us there now who have worked there simultaneously long and short enough that we don’t like the social barriers between everyone.

Why isn’t there more cross-department socializing? Camaraderie?

I don’t think we’re going to solve it with the Happy Hours I host in the costume shop or with the Pizza and Beer lunches thrown by the Scene Shop, but I do think it is a step in the right direction.

Thinking back one year, thinking back to the show we were trying to open at the end of January, thinking back to the energies and dynamics that were playing in the theater between people… so much progress has been made.

At times I think there is hope for more progress to be made as more of us get accepted into the community more fully.

At times I worry that I’m buying into something that won’t ever happen.

I do think, right now, on January 25th, that there is hope for us. I’m more positive about it now.

We’ll see what I think as the season winds down, though, when we start to see some plans come to fruition… or whither away.

Okay, ciao for now.

Please leave a reply!

