Block 913: January 23, 2016

IMG_7702

I have had the most perfectly lazy day and I’m loving it.

Date: January 23, 2016

Crane: 913

Days Spent on Project: 1067

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: I remembered that I hadn’t earnestly listened to the Spotify Discover Playlist this week… so that’s what I’m doing. Nothing to report so far.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Last night, I got myself dressed up for the Opening Night Party, and managed to get myself there. It was a good atmosphere once the show ended and the audience made their way to the front of the building.

The general consensus was that we did a great job with the costumes. Everyone was pleased with the design of the show. That was great to hear.

I don’t know what it means but overall, things feel better at work. Maybe I’m just more immersed in the work we do, the work culture, the work community at the theater. Maybe I’ve just learned the various dynamics and energies of the many people in the building. Maybe I’ve learned to avoid certain things and people and problems. Maybe I’ve just become more accustomed to it all. Maybe it was just the prospect of a weekend that I didn’t have any kind of reason to be at work at all.

But things feel better at work and at the theater.

Anyway. My Work Talent Crush left today, I think, now that the show opened. I guess that ship has sailed. It was nice to have another gay man in the theater that was my age and had experience working on large things and who brought large ideas to the table and wasn’t afraid to talk about them. I miss people who could think big and work big and talk big and were genuinely invested in the work at hand. I miss people my own age.

When I say “people” in those last sentences, please read “gay men.”

I’ve never been more aware than I have in the past few weeks, that I only come into contact with other women… who seem to be 10 to 15 years older than me. Where are my peers? I find it weird that there’s no gay community within the theater that employs me.

Anyway, it’s a night off and I’m going to enjoy doing nothing so I can recharge from the 130 hours I worked in the past 12 days.

Ciao.

Please leave a reply!

