Block 912: January 22, 2016

IMG_7695

We open Show Number Six tonight. Only five more to go in the next four months!

Date: January 22, 2016

Crane: 912

Days Spent on Project: 1066

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: Hamilton, obviously.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Today at work we had hardly anything to do. We passed the time as best we could, working on The Dress Project, but much of it was leisurely and slow-paced.

Which is weird. How is it opening and how are we NOT frantically trying to put finishing details on items or re-working ideas or trying to make actors happy. We were done with the show two days ago. It’s weird how functional the shop is becoming.

In the grand tradition that I started last year, we had a celebratory happy hour in the shop to commemorate Opening. One person made a punch of white wine, prosecco, and sliced oranges. One person brought in a cake. The remaining three of us brought in crackers, cheeses, nuts, and other food to nibble on.

It may seem like a small gesture, something silly, something possibly questionable to do at work, but…

I maintain that small gestures like this actually will improve the working conditions we find ourselves in. I maintain that being able to sit down and share a drink and food with someone brings us together, breaks tension, allows us to know each other as people and not as people with stresses or anxieties or concerns. I will continue to have Happy Hours for every Opening as long as I’m here.

I also gave the shop the day off on Monday. We don’t have any work, and most everybody has accrued some personal time to use… why not have a day off?

I really just wanted it for myself, though.

I imagine I’ll spend all day in bed tomorrow and I couldn’t be more excited.

Cheers.

Please leave a reply!

