Block 911: January 21, 2016

IMG_7693

I do not have to go back to work tonight or stay at work tonight or attend a notes session with the director or designers.

I am at home. I am in for the night. I am sitting on the floor, typing this, and having a glass of wine, while my dog is chewing a bone I just bought for him.

I am so ready for this.

Date: January 11, 2016

Crane: 911

Days Spent on Project: 1065

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: I let Spotify play in my office all day, shuffling through random songs that I’ve liked. Nothing monumental or crazy, but it did remind me that Carly Rae Jepsen’s newest album really is pretty great.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I have successfully campaigned the higher ups at work, the Development and Fundraising teams, the Educational department, and Marketing that they should give my shop some extra money to work on a “Dress Project” for the next two months when we have an overabundance of slow times and small shows. The two drapers, the firsthand, and the craftsperson have talked with me about building dresses (or series of accessories) that they’re curious about tackling and figuring out and making.

This is going to be an opportunity to highlight them at work, to show their skill set, to display their work in public, to feature them in a future playbill at work, and celebrate their contributions to the theater in general.

I am super excited that it’s happening. I am even more excited that the ladies seem genuinely excited about tackling four very different projects. I think it’s a small victory for me (as a shop manager) and us (as a shop).

It’s nice to see them excited about the work. It’ll be exciting to see where they take the project and what they can produce with time and some good resources.

Today at work, the theater felt deserted. No one came in (between all the colds going around and some winter vacations being enjoyed in drier and warmer climes) it seemed. I can’t believe we open a large period show tomorrow, and there isn’t a sense of anxiety in my or other nearby departments. I think we all just want the show to open.

I don’t think my Work Talent Crush is meant to be. Feeling down about that. I haven’t dated anyone in… well… almost seven years. I want to fix that, I do. Jeez do I want to work on that this year. Where is someone who thinks I’m pretty great.

Anyway, work is moving along. We overcame this show. We’re working on a passion project. My dog is happily chewing a bone. I’ve had one glass of wine and just poured Glass Number Two. I’m about to turn on Netflix and I hope to be in bed in two hours!

Today is over. Nothing much happened. Can’t wait for tomorrow and the weekend.

 

Please leave a reply!

