Block 901: January 11, 2016

IMG_7654

R.I.P., David Bowie.

Wow.

Date: January 11, 2016

Crane: 901

Days Spent on Project: 1055

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: Again, the costume shop is eerily quiet today. We start tech rehearsals for Show Number 6 tomorrow, and I think we’re more than ready for it, but everyone is still quietly working and working hard.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Wow, I did not get any sleep last night. And, today, all day, I’ve been struggling to stay present and stay awake.

I’m going home in just under an hour to eat dinner and then get into bed.

Our designer for the next show is in town for two weeks now. He came into check on our progress- which we are making, good and steady- and he left soon after. I fear that we’re going to run out of things to do in the shop… Or we’re going to be confronted with many problems to deal with. I can’t decide what kind of process this show will end up being.

Anyway. Hm. I was never someone who felt connected to or drawn to David Bowie, but I’ve been thinking about his passing all day.

What happens when you die?

What if nothing happens? What if this *is* it? What if it’s the end?

I’ve been thinking about that- the end- all day. And I’m a little sad to think this might be it.

If this is it, I need to do something more exciting, some more exciting things, more exciting things.

If David Bowie ended up being mortal, what chance do the rest of us have?

If David Bowie ended up being human instead of super-human, what does that make us?

If David Bowie was larger than life but not larger than death, what are we?

Time to go out and live a little.

Please leave a reply!

