Block 892: January 2, 2016

IMG_7610

A successful Saturday, I guess. A work day with the shop to get caught up after two back-to-back 3-day work weeks. I think we’re caught up.

Until more fittings happen on Tuesday…

Date: January 2, 2016

Crane: 892

Days Spent on Project: 1046

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: Nothing during the work day, actually. The shop was incredibly quiet, which seemed odd.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Regardless of what I think about this show that we’re currently producing, I think it’s all on schedule. I think we’re on track.

I had a slight moment, wondering in my office while staring at everyone at work, did we need to work today? We didn’t. The shop could have had a four day weekend. Was it just that I was bored that I called them in?

No. Even though it seems under control and on schedule, it is precisely because we’ve made up some of this holiday time on the weekend. Yes, Monday will be slow (but still busy). However, if we hadn’t worked today, I have to remind myself that we wouldn’t have been ready for the six fittings on Tuesday… and all those notes and discoveries would have compounded. I guess.

I’m learning that I need to embrace that I am managing a department. And I’m managing it well.

Tomorrow, is a day off. I need to embrace that, as well; starting on January 10th, guess who doesn’t have a day off until the end of February?

Hope 2016 is full of change and forward momentum and good things.

Hope we all can take the necessary steps to make that change, continue that forward momentum, and receive- or find or discover- good things.

Please leave a reply!

