Block 887: December 28, 2015

IMG_7572

 

Today, I crafted an Excel document that breaks down 52 work weeks into how many weekly hours were worked (and by day), how I code those weekly and daily hours to specific productions at work, how much money that is per week and per day, how much labor money is then being spent per person and per show, cross-references those figures with the numbers assigned by the production manager to see how off or right-on the previous year’s estimates were, separates any over-time done by full-time employees from regular pay, separates further any hours (and over-time) done by over-hire seasonal employees, while keeping a running tab on the 11 (or 12 next year- what?!) shows produced each season, and then summarizes it so you don’t have to wade through an 80 page document.

My MFA in Costume Design apparently included a Business Degree, too!

I’ve also had 40 ounces of coffee today.

Date: December 28, 2015

Crane: 887

Days Spent on Project: 1041

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: I had this week’s Spotify compilation called “Discover Weekly” on all day. Nothing really stood out yet. But, I we’ll try to pay more attention tomorrow.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I didn’t get to bed last night until 3 in the morning. My mind was racing about all sorts of things, and I couldn’t settle it down. I read a magazine. Watched some Netflix. Ate (a lot of) cheese and crackers. Drank a bottle of seltzer. Counted sheep. Listened to my dog snore in bed next to me. Nothing worked.

Getting up at 6am wasn’t pleasant.

I have a feeling I’ll sleep a little better tonight. Here’s hoping!

Please leave a reply!

