Block 881: December 22, 2015

IMG_7549

Why is it 8:30pm and why am I just now getting to this?

Why is it 8:30pm and why am I pouring myself a large glass of wine to “calm down?”

Anyway, Winter Solstice today. Shortest, darkest day of the year. The days can only get longer after today.

The mean blues, these days.

Date: December 22, 2015

Crane: 881

Days Spent on Project: 1035

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve chosen to listen to my personalized “Discover Weekly” Spotify Playlist because it’s good music this week. Still loving that song by EZA… “High and Low.”

Huh. I just got how that title’s applicable to both my job and my time in Portland.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: It sucks. It’s three days before Christmas and I promised myself…

  1. That I’d start documenting all the micro-aggressions, lack of effort and problems I have with my employees EACH DAY,
  2. That I would have to have a shop meeting ASAP (next week?) with them in private, where I would go over what their job descriptions are and what I want them to do and NOT what they believe their responsibilities are,
  3. And that I’d have to leave them daily reminders of… “Make sure you talk to this employee to check progress” or “make sure you set up the fitting room” or “make sure you prepare the alterations for these people” or “make sure you show up on time” and so on…
  4. And that I wouldn’t be so hard on my self for EXPECTING THEM TO SHOW UP and DO WHAT I ASK OF THEM.

I am their boss. I am tired of dealing with this attitude and then getting excuses and smiles when I try to hold them accountable for the lack of effort.

This job is probably the most personally draining and professionally frustrating one I’ve had… Is that true? No, it isn’t. The fact that it’s frustrating is that I am now a BOSS, a Supervisor, the head of a Department and I’m saddled with these people.

Drop the anchors. Drop the deadweights. I’d like this ship to sail towards progress, not stay still in the middle of a restless ocean.

Anyway.

Wine.

Please leave a reply!

