Block 879: December 20, 2015

IMG_7545

Sunday, with very little to do… but I’ve spent most of the day being an adult and responsible.

Date: December 20, 2015

Crane: 879

Days Spent on Project: 1033

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: HAMILTON, because why get out of this rut that I’m stuck in?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I worked for several summers at the National High School Institute at Northwestern University. I worked as a Faculty Associate, a costume designer, a teacher, a shop manager, and a Resident Advisor. It was always an intense period of work- mounting 10 fully realized productions in 5 weeks that would run in repertory!- but the experience remains something I always remember proudly. A lot of great people work there. A lot of great students went there.

This weekend, I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about an analogy that the program director would mention occasionally. I’ll paraphrase, obviously, but:

“If we’re going to get there together, we have to get on the same boat.”

After the job evaluations on Friday with my staff, I’ve been thinking a lot about that sentence. In its brevity, it hits the nail on the head.

We can’t operate as three ships sailing parallel to each other towards a common goal. It’s not working. It’s not making us more efficient. It’s limiting what we can do.

We have to get on the same boat if we’re going to wind up in the same place together.

I would unfortunately have to add: When you get on the boat with us, it helps if you don’t walk on wearing a life vest and head immediately to a life boat while carrying a life preserver in one hand and a heavy anchor in the other hand… but I would assume that doesn’t need to be spoken.

Although, I’m learning here that I really can’t *assume* anything in that shop.

Time to keep steering that ship away from the iceberg it was headed towards…

One thought on “Block 879: December 20, 2015

  1. Just wanted to make contact and let you know that there are lots of us out here who follow you daily (I have since you were on Block300 something), and don’t always leave comments, or are blocked from doing it. I’m not sure what I’ll do when you reach 1,000, but am hoping you take on another long-term project so that I can read more of your life experiences daily. Thanks for your commitment and persistence.

Please leave a reply!

