Block 877: December 18, 2015

IMG_7534

Holy crap I’m so thankful today is done.

Date: December 18, 2015

Crane: 877

Days Spent on Project: 1031

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: HAMILTON. Can you believe one of the people who works in my shop said she didn’t like listening to musicals!?! And didn’t like them in general!?!

How do you work in theater?!?!?!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: THANK GOD TODAY IS DONE.

I spent the afternoon having these job evaluations. In the end, it was only a three hour segment of my day. It wasn’t that long! But, wow! Did that ever take a LOT of energy to get through…

In the end, it was helpful. Super helpful. In the end, these job evaluations really were about learning about THEM rather than me critiquing or reviewing their WORK.

Yes, there is so much work to be done still. They’re all good workers with great intentions and the ambition. But, dammit, know I’ve heard it from their own mouths. So… so much work to be done, and I really am… like Maria in The Sound Of Music… going to insist that we “start from the very beginning.”

I didn’t think I’d have to start from scratch.

Anyway, I will admit that I’ve dived into a bottle of wine tonight. I’ve been anxious about doing these interviews all week; I’ve been dreading the critique I HAD to give to one employee, and I haven’t been looking forward to the details that needed to be said to a few others.

So, I’m not sure what to think. I have to formulate a game plan and figure out a way to make this department BETTER. Because I know now we all “say” that we want it to be better. (Do we all mean it though?) In the meantime: wine. So I won’t think (too much) about it tonight.

Tomorrow is a new day. I wish I didn’t need to think of having glasses of wine to make me forget a day and feel better about a day, but I admit that I do. That’s not great, but it’s my life.

“Look around, Look around at how lucky we are to be alive right now. Look around, look around…”

Please leave a reply!

