Block 870: December 11, 2015

IMG_7510

Well, tonight we open Show Number 5. We also started fittings for Show Number 6 this afternoon. I got the casting for Show Number 11 last night.

There’s no rest until May.

Date: December 11, 2015

Crane: 870

Days Spent on Project: 1024

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m at home and I’m allowing Spotify to play through one of my “randomly liked” playlists. This meant “We Are Lucky People” by Lange has been playing a few times…

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: What can I say tonight?

Well, it’s 8:44pm, according to my MacBook Pro.

I’m now listening to “Pull Shapes” by The Pipettes. It’s a new favorite now.

Do you ever now what’s bound to happen in your life?

Today, in the costume shop, after we had four hours of fittings for our sixth show, we stopped and took a moment and opened a 1.5L bottle of Prosecco that one of the Stitchers brought in to celebrate the opening of our Fifth Show tonight. (Side story: I decided I wasn’t going to go at 6:30pm… when I was hanging out with my dog and I realized that I haven’t spent more than an hour conscious/awake with him this week because of this insane work schedule. I don’t feel too guilty because there wasn’t going to be an Opening Night party and most of the audience had been bought out by an outside Corporate group.)

Anyway.

As we drank the Prosecco around a table in the shop, the 2 drapers, the 1 first hand, the 1 craftsperson, the 2 over-hire stitchers, the 1 Operations Manager, and myself… I looked at them and really thought about what we had all gone through and what we had all worked through in the past (almost) 17 months. They’re all good people. They all want to do good work.

We’ve made so much progress in the past 17 months, and I really do think we’re ready to keep making progress.

I never, in my wildest dreams or ambitions, would have thought that managing a costume shop in Portland was a path I needed to follow, but maybe I needed this? Again, I don’t know if this is a permanent thing or a “few years only” thing, but I have to admit that the move and the change and the shift away from New York and Freelance and Design was needed in so many ways.

Progress is possible. Progress is happening. We’re making (baby) steps towards something better.

I hope we keep going in that direction.

Please leave a reply!

