Block 855: November 26, 2015

IMG_7446

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone. (If you celebrate it, of course.)

Date: November 26, 2015

Crane: 855

Days Spent on Project: 1010

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got the weekly Spotify “Discover” playlist playing today. It’s fairly good this week, a few songs jump out as ear-worms, but I’ll be ready for a new mix next Monday.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I wouldn’t think Thanksgiving was one of my Favorite Holidays. Yes, of course, it’s one of the major ones in the calendar year in the US. But, it’s not one of my personal BIG ones.

It’s about food. It’s about gathering in a social group. It’s about relaxing afterwards over conversation, over television-watching (football! parades! dog competitions!), over eating more, over shopping (boo, capitalism!), movies at the cineplex.

In ways, Thanksgiving- for me- has always been and will always be about wading through gluttony for a day. I know and understand that it’s a holiday built on privilege and commerce. I get that. The juxtaposition of being thankful, sharing food and talk with appreciated ones, and then celebrating the commerce of “Christmas” over the next four weeks… it’s always struck me as a simultaneously commercially developed holiday butting heads with a holiday meant to be sincere.

Anyway.

Be Thankful.

I woke up at 8:30 this morning. My Frenchie was purring-snoring pressed against me. We took a 30 minute walk, wandering around our block as The Dog policed squirrels that were more likely hibernating than mischief-causing. I made a Crane. I enjoyed three cups of coffee made in my French Press. I went to the gym for an hour of Cardio. I showered at home, walked The Dog again, and came back to Netflix to watch three more episodes of Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries on Netflix. I made a to-do list for tomorrow, when I go back to work to finish planning and prepping for Show Number Six that we start on Monday. I walked The Dog again before making his dinner. I’m having a glass of wine, as usual.

I didn’t have a gluttonous Thanksgiving day. I’ve had some toast today with Cranberry relish and coffee for a mid-day meal. Tonight, I might have a sandwich of chicken lunchmeat, paired with carrots and hummus.

Regardless, I think it’s important to be thankful for the day I’ve had, and also acknowledge the things that make me a human.

I’m so thankful that The Dog is in my life.

Portland hasn’t been a cornucopia of social activity or social connection like I had hoped. My dog has weathered this casual social storm the entire time we’ve been here. I’m so incredibly thankful, as awkward as it may seem from the outside, to have the anchor that he has- unknowingly- provided me for the past six years.

My dog is pretty great. I love him a lot. As he snore-purrs next to me, I hope he knows that…

Thanks for following along for this weird ride.

Please leave a reply!

