Block 831: November 2, 2015

IMG_2081

Trying to keep my head above and out of the clouds.

Date: November 2, 2015

Crane: 831

Days Spent on Project: 986

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m listening to various remixes of a song called “Women Beat Their Men.” Can you imagine that there are several versions of this song out there?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Even though I gave my shop staff the day off, I went into work today.

But, only for 5 and a half hours though. Even though I wanted to give everyone a Monday off– and a deserved three day weekend– I saw it was the perfect chance to get some work done.

I got some fabric ordered from New York. I chose fabrics for the remaining builds on the next show, a Christmas remount where we need to rebuild and rethink some of the clothes. I did payroll. I did some more receipts. I restocked and hung some items that were no longer needed.

One of my coworkers has decided that he needs to leave his job. His girlfriend moved to New York; she left a month ago and, while he wanted to finish out the season, he now wants to get to the east coast by the end of the calendar year. I’ll be sad to see him go.

I mentioned that. His response: Not to worry, won’t I be moving back out east within the year as well?

I don’t know. I really do feel– really honestly feel– that my future with this company is tied up in what they plan for next season. Whether it’s a raise, whether it’s an assistant for me, whether it’s another employee in the shop, whether it’s a (or several) design opportunities, I need a bone thrown in my direction.

Okay, I’m going to bed. It’s before 10pm and I’m going to enjoy it.

Please leave a reply!

