Block 823: October 25, 2015

IMG_2053

Lord, people just don’t listen sometimes.

Date: October 25, 2015

Crane: 823

Days Spent on Project: 978

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: “Joan of Arc” from Madonna’s latest album.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Writing this at quarter to eleven at night. I just finished walking my dog after getting home from work.

I’m tired.

Today was a day to remind myself that I do know what I’m talking about sometimes. I do have a reason for voicing concerns. I’m not being neurotic or annoying or unhelpful. I voice my concerns for a reason.

After working yesterday in the day- a full eight hours- I decided I wasn’t going back into work for notes after the first preview. It was going to be a 30 minute meeting. Another 30 minutes of walking round-trip.

The night before, the artistic director mentioned that he saw no reason for me to stay at late night rehearsals anymore… which I found odd, but sure: I’ll have an evening at home for a change!

Murphy’s Law decided that last night would be the night that a few quick changes didn’t happen as they should have, actors didn’t make their entrances on time, and one actress– wearing a vintage 1940s cotton day dress that the designer gave her to wear during her dance routine (!)– disintegrated on stage. This morning I learned that I can’t have nights off on these kinds of rehearsal days.

I think other people learned that lesson last night, too.

I don’t know if that was a victory or not.

Please leave a reply!

