Block 822: October 24, 2015

IMG_2051

Shh… I’m writing this in the theater while a run-through is happening.

Date: October 24, 2015

Crane: 822

Days Spent on Project: 977

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: Right now, I’m listening to a group of 11 actors sing Fats Waller!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I think it’s important to remind myself that sometimes dreams don’t come true.

But that doesn’t keep us from dreaming, does it?

I’m sitting in the back of the theater, watching this show’s rehearsal, and I strangely feel like the world somehow shifted itself in the last 16 hours I was excused early last night; I went home at 10:45 instead of 11:30. I still stayed up until 1:30am, however; I needed to think and stare at the walls and have a post-midnight snack.

I slept in until 9am this morning. My dog and I enjoyed a slow walk, we came home, and I stared at the walls again until 11:30am when I walked to work for the day. I left the dog at home for the day. I’ll get an hour or so off this afternoon, then I’ll return for an evening preview. I hope to be home by 11pm, I think.

I don’t know what it is, but the atmosphere in the theater feels different. I think the low level of anxiety is buzzing louder in every department. We have an audience for the first time tonight, and we’re just now running the show for the first time.

Anyway, one week from today, I get a day off! November will be about looking ahead beyond whatever show is currently in production in the shop. I need to think about the future and where I want to be and what I want to do and what I want to be working towards.

To the future and beyond…

Please leave a reply!

