Block 814: October 16, 2015

IMG_2012

Sitting on my balcony with a glass of wine after another 10 hour work day.

My dog is feeling it, too; he’s got a very forlorn expression on his face right now.

Date: October 16, 2015

Crane: 814

Days Spent on Project: 969

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: I never even thought to turn on music today, and I should fix that right now… I’ll put on the Weekly Discover Spotify playlist right now!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Most of the day at work was spent quietly. It feels like the entire theater is experiencing a steady, low-grade, constant vibration of anxiety about this show. Several people who could took today off. Several people stayed in their own bubbles all day. One person left the shop today feeling sick. Another person powered through because she didn’t want to stop working. Several of us feel a little under the weather.

For the most part, we were all silent, with heads down, and soldiered on with the projects in front of us.

I, selfishly, started to draw new costumes for the Christmas show we’ll be starting in two weeks. Maybe it isn’t selfish- I’m doing the work now and sticking to the production schedule that was given to me- as much as being prepared… which is something the designers we’ve worked with so far this season have not been.

Prepared.

Maybe this show will be brilliant. Maybe it’ll be amazing. Maybe I’m just focused on the trees around me that I don’t see the forest. I don’t know. Fourteen days until opening.

Meanwhile, we open another show tonight. I don’t know of many people who are going.

Please leave a reply!

