Block 805: October 7, 2015

IMG_1930

I know it’s technically 7am on October 8th, but this is the first time I had to sit down…

Date: October 7, 2015

Crane: 805

Days Spent on Project: 960

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: Didn’t have a chance to sit down long enough to put on music…

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Yesterday was busy!

I got up at 6, attempted to take the dog out, but he thwarted my attempts by refusing to walk or do anything… because it had just finished drizzling rain and the sidewalk was wet.

Instead, I went to the gym. Promptly got on the elliptical (30 minutes is better than not going at all!) as opposed to the treadmill (because coordination before caffeine?) and the guy next to me tapped me on the shoulder: it was the artistic director of the theater I work at.

So, that was weird.

Got to work at nine. We had four hours of fittings for one show, while we had 10 hours of tech for another show, while I placed a bunch of orders with people in New York and unloaded three boxes of dance shoes, rolls of fabric, and suits that arrived just in the nick of time from New York. We finished teching through the show by 11 (which seems odd… how did we do that so fast?), gave notes, and I left. Walked the dog, ate a sandwich, and realized it was midnight.

I did manage to get a Crane made, though.

Remember, I like being busy… I do. But, wow, when one LARGE show is in rehearsals and pre-production with fittings with a time-deprived designer, and another show with a crap ton of clothes in technical rehearsals so it can begin performances this weekend, while a third show is wrapping up a four week run so it can close and get struck this weekend. There’s a lot to do right now.

Okay, I need to make today’s Crane. And get to work in an hour and a half.

Here we go.

I’m listening to Kelly Clarkson’s Invincible right now.

Please leave a reply!

