Block 782: September 13, 2015

IMG_1445

It’s amazing how quickly you can get sucked back into the rat race of New York, isn’t it?

It’s like I never left.

(Not really.)

Date: September 14, 2015

Crane: 782

Days Spent on Project: 937

Location: Hell’s Kitchen, New York City

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: Listening to Madonna and Carly Rae Jepsen in my hotel room right now.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: It’s almost 11pm. I still have a hundred or so swatches to staple to oak tags. I need to write down where I swatched them, how much they cost, how wide the fabric is. It’s maybe another hour of work…

It feels like I never really left here.

I left the hotel at 8:30 this morning, after getting 8 hours of sleep. I had my iPod playing. I turned the corner to walk down 10th Avenue and then, slam, it hit me…

People here walk fast. People here walk like they mean business. People here walk like they have somewhere to go.

I was a little floored.

Within a few blocks I was matching their pace and walking around slow-goers and tourists and jay-walking when needed and crossing when the light was red. I picked up the city’s energy and momentum again.

It was like I never really left.

And New York is completely different than it was in July 2014 when I left, but it’s exactly the same. The details of so much have changed. SO MUCH.

The city doesn’t stop.

I left here. I stopped living here. But the city didn’t.

It’s never been more obvious to me that New York is a city that can’t stop. It just can’t.

There’s something important in that lesson, I guess.

Please leave a reply!

