Block 772: September 4, 2015

IMG_1393

I would say TGIF, but I’m now working Saturday and Sunday. Goodbye, three day weekend.

Date: September 4, 2015

Crane: 772

Days Spent on Project: 927

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: Currently, I’m listening to the sound of my dog lick his lips. He just inhaled his dinner, and he must have really liked it.

But, okay, let’s put on some music. Spotify’s Discover Weekly it is for me!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Didn’t necessarily sleep very well last night. I woke up extremely dehydrated, craving water, and slightly groggy. I never really finished my coffee at work this morning, and I’ve felt slightly disconnected today.

My epiphany from yesterday continues to float in my mind today. I’m struck by an awareness that the problems I feel exist in the building aren’t my own. They aren’t my fault. The shortcomings that I fear I have aren’t creating the problems.

I’m also aware that the people I consider on my level- the shop supervisors and department heads- and then all the people below that, we all have the desire to do the work and to do the work well. We all have some sort of reason to do this work. We want the challenge. We want to create things of which we’re proud. We want to work. We want to be and feel important. We want to succeed.

But, when the people steering the ship lack the ability to think non-literally, how do they have the ability to think ahead? To have foresight? To have vision? To have a goal? To create?

How can you lead if everything has to be LITERAL and LITERALLY in front of you?

How can you have a meeting to discuss what may be, what could be, what will be?

How do you talk to others about ideas in your head?

How do you inspire others with ideas?

How do you create?

How do you lead an arts institution if you can’t dream and work with others to realize those dreams?

If your ideas are “I want what they did,” how are you leading? How are you innovative? How are you creating?

If your ideas are “I don’t want what they did,” how are you any better? You never define something by what it isn’t.

I don’t know what I’m thinking or feeling here with this post, but how can you lead if you lack the ability to think figuratively? Creatively? If you can’t embrace the unknown? If you can’t trust the others you work with? If you lack the vocabulary to react to the work people do? If your only response is “No” or “I hate it” or “It’s not what I think,” but you can’t describe or dream of what you think…

Just HOW?

Oh, silly, Portland. For a city where everyone is an artist, we have relatively few artists.

Please leave a reply!

