Block 766: August 29, 2015

IMG_1366

I needed a pep talk today.

Date: August 29, 2015

Crane: 766

Days Spent on Project: 921

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: A plethora of Spotify today. Spent some time going through the Discover Weekly, a playlist curated especially for me based on my listening preference. This week’s sampling of music was slightly more successful. Only two songs were already in my Starred folder.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: My big thought for the day… I wish I had a million dollars.

I think I need to get a second job here in Portland. I don’t understand how people can have that leisurely “Portland” lifestyle that allows them to have a part-time job and still manage to hang out and go out nightly and take car trips to the coast or the mountains or the forest. I don’t get how people do it.

I’m cutting corners everywhere I turn to save money, but JEEZ this city feels expensive now.

A year ago, when I moved here from New York, I had this weird impression that everything here was afforable. And it was, I guess. Getting lunch from the Whole Foods near work WAS cheap(er than I was used to). The movie tickets were only $11. The Starbucks coffee was easily more affordable. Trader Joe’s seemed so much cheaper!

But, after a year, knowing the amount of work I do and the number of hours I work and the money I’m paid and the money that are taken out of each paycheck (thanks Oregon), I feel broker than when I was living in New York.

I know that’s not true. That can’t be possible. I get paid every two weeks. It’s not a lot, but it’s not nothing. I’m paying my bills and student loans and credit card, instead of using my credit card to cover all my expenses. I’m trying to be responsible.

But, I don’t get how people make ends meet.

Maybe no one is. Maybe we’re all struggling here, and I’m just now feeling it for the first time.

Eek.

Anyway, it’s Saturday night and I’m doing laundry. Three loads so far and a few more to go.

So much for having crazy weekend fun times…

One thought on “Block 766: August 29, 2015

  1. *Hugs* I know the squeeze of working hard and trying to be responsible but just not being able to make ends meet. I used to work 1 full time job, 2 part time jobs, and a full course at uni and I still had trouble making ends meet. It is a tough reality when you work hard but can’t make ends meet.

Please leave a reply!

