Block 755: August 18, 2015

IMG_1227

Today… Meh.

Date: August 18, 2015

Crane: 755

Days Spent on Project: 910

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: Not much at all today. With all the first day of rehearsal activity (meeting actors, fittings, meetings, etc.), I didn’t have much time to sit and listen to the room.

Although, I did play some Madonna at one point before everyone showed up to work.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Well, today, the season really started. We have a new group of actors here from Portland and New York. The energy they give off and are putting into the theater building is nice to have around.

It’s interesting, this is my second year/season in this job. I was new to it all last season. I didn’t know people. I didn’t know the space. I didn’t know the schedule. I was excited about it all.

Today, walking to work at 8am with my dog, I’m not new to the space or the work or the schedule or the people. I know what’s going to happen. I’m not sure how I feel about it.

I wish I were more challenged. I wish there were more of a creative opportunity here, like the one that was promised to me, which made me want the job. I wish it were a little more challenging. I wish there were thought behind all of this.

It’s good to have the job. It’s good to have the experience under my belt. I’m glad to have met some of the people in this building.

I just wish there were a little more to it all. Sadly.

But things are good. Each step is a step towards something.

This project has gotten increasingly terse on my end since I decided to stop thinking about the Cranes I’d be dedicating each block to. I promise I’ll finish that when I have some distance and can think about the people who’ve affected my life in the past year. I’ll finish that very important aspect of this project.

I will.

I think that’s the most important part of it all.

Without it, it’s just a quilt. You know?

Please leave a reply!

