Block 754: August 17, 2015

IMG_1224

It’s so slow at work right now. Everyone is working on personal projects, checking email, reading, etc. And we even came in an hour late today…

It’s frustrating to be in this situation. Wasn’t this supposed to be a large show? Wasn’t our designer supposed to be around?

Later in the season, when we have NO time, I guess we should remember what it was like to have too much time.

Date: August 17, 2015

Crane: 754

Days Spent on Project: 909

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: I don’t know what kind of Pandora music station we have on, but it’s been a steady stream of banjos and fiddles for a while.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Today I listened to the commencement speech that Jon Waters gave RISD graduates this year. If you want the text of that address, here it is!

Facebook brought it to my attention this morning for the second time. I’ve seen it before. I needed to listen to it again.

Anyway, not much is going on again.

Our designer is absent again.

It’s teaching me a valuable lesson. You can never assume a designer will want as much as she could have. Back when we worked on CYRANO, the designer (whom I enjoyed working with) relentlessly kept giving notes and tweaking items until the very end. It was a lot of work… too much work. This show, that has a cast of 19 (as opposed to 9), could have had leagues more costumes. But, now, it’s not.

I assumed the designer would design the show. So I brought in a total of five overhire stitchers and one craftsperson… and I’m now fearing that I’ll have to call up three of them and tell them not to bother coming in.

You can plan. You can prioritize. You can organize. You can provide. You can manager your shop.

But you can’t manage your designer.

Sometimes they just phone it in.

Please leave a reply!

