Block 748: August 11, 2015

IMG_1204

I’m taking a deep breath right now.

Date: August 11, 2015

Crane: 748

Days Spent on Project: 903

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: I don’t have any music on this morning. I mean, something’s playing in the shop but I don’t know what it is. It’s kinda quiet.

The shop is incredibly quiet this morning.

Hm.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: The season is really underway here! Lots of activity with six people in the shop and all the other departments jumping on board with their needs and responsibilities.

It’s crazy to think how we wet from a casually working, to prepping almost finished mock-ups for fittings tomorrow, in just a few days. It’s crazy to think how quickly the roller coaster reaches the first of many hills and falls that await us in 10 months.

So, here’s something. I thought work was going to fly me out to New York City for three days of work. I thought, with the numbers I had in front of me, that this would be the cheaper option than hiring someone every other month to do the work for me. In a way, it is easier (and cheaper) to send me out there, as contradictory as it seems. But, I’m upset to report, that the window of time I can fly out there might have shut.

I thought the costume shop and our work would be featured throughout the season in a written publication, whose job would have been to introduce us and follow projects as they culminated into real clothes over a few months. That idea, passed around over the past few weeks, might not come to fruition.

For some reason, reality is starting to hit me again. Maybe some of the promises made, looking ahead to this season, are already starting to be swept under the rug.

I’m a little disappointed today. It was something to look forward to, something exciting.

Oh well.

Please leave a reply!

