Block 747: August 10, 2015

IMG_1202

Another day, another dollar.

Date: August 10, 2015

Crane: 747

Days Spent on Project: 902

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m listening to the music from the Ken Burns documentary, Jazz, again.

What gets me about this music, especially the earlier bits and pieces I’m listening to, would have to be the seismic shift that it sent out into the world. I’m reading a book on New Orleans in the late 19th and early 20th Centuries, and the music… the music seemed to play such an important part in the social dynamic of the city’s fabric. It seemed to be electric; people talk about the effect it had on people.

I listen to it and, while I recognize it as great music, I can only be amazed at how straitlaced and confined the world must have been if THIS is what changed the sonic world.

It makes you realize how much the rules need to be broken to affect change. It makes you appreciate those people who break the rules along the way and, in effect, alter the landscape of whatever world they immerse themselves in.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Today began the second week of the 2015-6 season at the theater. Three more people, over hired to help with the builds and clothing alterations, came on board. One of them is someone who works here a lot; two of them are new to the theater.

It’s good to have more people in the shop. It’s good to see the work- even if we’re still draping clothes or piecing together mock-ups to try on actors later this week- come together. The work has started again, and it feels like it never ended.

I’m learning today and every day that management, true management, is about more than itemizing receipts and hiring extra help and making sure schedules are adhered to and emails answered and supplies bought. Management really is about managing personalities and the people who work for you.

It seems like a given, doesn’t it?

Learning how to balance the requests and the personal needs of personnel and attitudes and actions and idiosyncrasies that only emerge when a group of people walk into a room, to do a job.

I’m sure these are just the dynamics of regular, full-time work coming into play. These dynamics are something I never would have seen in New York; I was freelance there and my job was only for a set number of weeks and rarely did I have a home base or a home team that would surround me M-F, 9 to 6. I was there and then I was gone. I never, and will I’ve never, had the luxury of luxuriating in a position, in a group, for enough time to see people act lazy, get frustrated, want feedback, get bored, try to work the system, and so on.

It’s interesting. It’s really very interesting to experience firsthand.

Management is an art, sure. I may sadly feel like I’m no longer an artist with this job in a regional theater, but holy crap am I mastering an art.

Okay, off to bed soon. Sometimes eight hours can just drain you.

Please leave a reply!

