Block 746: August 9, 2015

IMG_1199

Knew I forgot something today. Oops.

Date: August 9, 2015

Crane: 746

Days Spent on Project: 901

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: I made the glorious good decision to listen to the Ken Burns Jazz compilation. So good! Maybe I should re-watch that documentary again soon…

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I can’t believe I forgot to do this. It’s almost 10pm here!

Today, I got a message on Facebook from a college acquaintance. She wanted to say, that despite not being friends in real life- or at college- she was glad to have connected with me on Facebook, and that watching my Cranes project and hearing about my life as a designer was inspiring.

Huh?

She was glad that I had the good fortune to have followed my dreams, and that I was continuing to follow them.

I haven’t written her back to thank her for the kind words. I’ll do that tomorrow.

But, it’s a interesting reminder that my frustrations with my career (can I consider myself a designer anymore?) are petty. I did follow my passion and my dream of working in theater. I still do. I get paid to realize costume designs at a respectable regional theater. That is pretty great.

And, while I’m not the one making the creative decisions right now, there’s no one saying that my (design) career is over or that I wasn’t good enough to cut it. I was obviously good enough to cut it enough to get here.

There’s so much possibility left in the world. I’m not sure what I’m moving towards, but I am moving towards something.

So, remember, the boring days you toil through might be an exciting story for someone else. The grass is always greener, sure, but we’re all standing on a section of grass.

Right?

Okay, off to bed. Another week starts tomorrow…

Please leave a reply!

