Block 742: August 5, 2015

IMG_1182

Wednesday. The first week of the season is almost over!

Date: August 5, 2015

Crane: 742

Days Spent on Project: 897

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: I didn’t even get to turn on Spotify today… but in the shop, we must be listening to some vaguely 1990s radio station. The Red Hot Chili Peppers is currently singing “Californication.”

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Well, went to the Dentist today and they said everything looked like it was healing well. I have to keep the stitches in for another THREE WEEKS, though, so I get the pleasure of living with them for some time. Yay.

I’m sitting on the floor of my apartment, my mouth full of gauze that’s been soaked in an antibacterial mouthwash (I’m not allowed to brush or floss the surgical site nor can I use mouthwash regularly). I just got back from taking the dog for a quick walk (I’m tired and he’s wound up). I’ll make dinner in a bit (more overcooked pasta!). It’s already almost 8pm.

On one hand, wow: how do you fit everything in during the day with an 8-9 hour work day right in the middle of everything?

On the other hand, wow: I’m really glad to be back and working at the theater after such a slow summer. The ladies are working on making patterns. Fabrics are ordered from New York. Some materials are ordered for other projects. The second show’s designs are late, and I’m trying to hunt the designer down.

As much work that has happened, that needs to happen, that will happen… as much stuff that will fall by the wayside… as much anxiety and stress and long hours that are coming soon enough, it is good to be working and to have the season starting again.

This season still feels like a step in a much better direction.

And, on that note, I have to take all the gauze out of my mouth and start boiling pasta until it falls apart.

Please leave a reply!

