Block 741: August 4, 2015

IMG_1180

Happy birthday, Mom!

Date: August 4, 2015

Crane: 741

Days Spent on Project: 896

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: Well, I can’t remember what I listened to this morning. It might be possible that I didn’t listen to anything. Could that be true?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: There is one person at work that I feel a strange bond towards. Do we ever hang out? No. Do we work in the same department? No. Do I see him daily? No.

But, sometime in the first few weeks that I started work, I learned that he and I grew up in the same small town in Indiana.

What are the chances, right? (Crazily enough, one of our shows last year- a one woman vehicle starring an actress on an HBO television show- gave me a similar epiphany: she had also grown up in my small Indiana town and had gone to the public high school. She had to have known my eldest sister. They’re the same age most likely…)

Anyway, walking into work this morning, Starbucks in hand, before 9am when everyone shows up, I ran into him.

And we started talking about Portland, about Indiana, about politics, about life, and about work.

He agrees with me. The atmosphere around the building is changed, noticeably different. During the past season, there has been a crazy amount of turnover in several departments. There continues to be strangely; two more people sent company wide emails giving their two weeks notice. Some of these departures are a little sad. Others surprising and unexpected. Others are for the best when opportunities fall out of the sky. I believe it says a lot about a company when it becomes extremely common to click on an Inbox of awaiting emails and find a “So Long, Farewell” email every few weeks.

Perhaps it started right before I got here. I’m not sure exactly; when the previous shop manager announced his departure, it was after the season ended and his replacement (me) was hired in less than a month. I got to Portland and, soon after, the Technical Director left, then box office employees left, then custodians left, then IT guys left, then kitchen help left, then lighting people, then the Operations head left, the lead stage manager, the staff photographer, and then the production manager.

It’s a lot.

But, while it is a lot and it says a lot, I do want to express that it feels like a completely new building and the atmosphere feels different. Maybe it’s the euphoria of possibility that I’m still breathing, but it feels better.

To have my friend from Indiana-by-way-of-Portland also comment on this tells me it really is noticeable. His comment: last year was just dark and frustrating and bad. That was a fluke.

Here’s to progress.

Maybe something was started last season when I arrived. When I said it was going to be a season of change, maybe I really was right.

Please leave a reply!

