Block 739: August 2, 2015

IMG_1170

Well, here we go. Summer “vacation” ends tonight.

Date: August 2, 2015

Crane: 739

Days Spent on Project: 894

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: I started the day with the Spotify playlist entitled “Early Morning Rise,” since my dog decided he wanted to get in my face and wake me up at 6am on this Sunday morning.

I understand why. It’s been so miserably hot here (over 100 degrees) frequently this summer, and the only comfortable time outside (for both him and me) has been around 6am. I can’t wait for fall, and the grey overcast days to come…

Anyway, the music was good. Felt very “White Person With Deep Feelings,” aka A coffee shop mix, but good nonetheless.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Even though I’ve been on contract- and going to the theater to work each day- my hours have been short and incredibly flexible for the past 10 weeks. Starting tomorrow, I’ll be at work from 8:30am to 6pm five days a week, working weekends whenever there’s a need (most weekends?), and trying to keep everything running as smoothly as possible.

A year ago, this day came on August 10th. The shop I’d be running was back on contract on the 11th of August, 2014; that night I was a crazy mix of excitement (can’t wait to meet these people) and terror (what’s it going to be like working here with these people). I didn’t know what to expect. In some cases, I was so incredibly green and unaware of what was to come and what I’d need to do to make things run. Actually, in almost every case, I was completely green and unprepared.

Looking back, and looking at the resume I sent in, I’m still not quite sure what this theater saw in me to hire me as a shop manager.

I did believe I could do the job a year ago when I applied.

Today, I do believe I can do this job very well, most certainly I’ll do this job better than last year.

Tomorrow, when the shop all rolls into work at 9am– and we start talking about what’s going to barrel down at us and how I hope we can surmount the work and maintain standards– I’ll be a crazy mix of excitement (glad to see these people again) and awareness (I know how you all are going to react to these challenges, so how can I prepare for these things). I know I haven’t seen these people in 10 weeks so a lot may or may not have happened. It’ll be necessary to spend some time catching up before we dive into business.

Tomorrow, as opposed to last year, I doubt they’ll have that look of unease that they all had on their faces. Looking back, I understand why they looked at me like that. (I probably looked a bit uneasy as well.)

So, while it’s sad to bid summer adieu, I have to acknowledge that I’ll be glad to have them all back. I’m excited to see what we can come up with and how we can keep improving the product we do. I’m excited to see how Portland is in Year Two. I’m excited to see what I can accomplish.

There’s always that sense of possibility before you undertake any challenge, you know?

We’re at the base of the mountain, looking up.

We’re about to start the first day of school, everyone.

Here we go!

P.S. I’m not sure what the incisions are supposed to look like, but I think they’re doing well! And there hasn’t been any pain since Friday! And I ate some extremely overcooked, plain pasta last night! Yay for solid foods! (Although I really can’t wait to bite down and chew on real food again…)

Please leave a reply!

