Block 728: July 22, 2015

IMG_1090

Guess who didn’t set his alarm clock this morning?

Date: July 22, 2015

Crane: 728

Days Spent on Project: 883

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: TBD

Music I listened to while sewing: I settled on the Ghosttown remixes, by Madonna. And I’m playing them loudly at work because, again, I think I’m the only one on this floor currently.

But, today, I did bring my dog to work. He’s snoring in the corner, but at least someone else is here with me!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I’m sitting in my office, trying to make a To Do List for the day. I’m having a hard time getting over the fact that the summer is basically over and we in the Costume Shop start another marathon season on August 3rd. I feel like this season will be infinitely easier for many reasons.

I won’t be the new person. We have a new production manager. I know everyone in the building. I know the energy that people give off. I know how the work will ebb and flow. I know a little bit about Portland. I have some contacts who I know I can trust for help and others to avoid. I won’t be a new shop manager, but I’ll be The Shop Manager. I have my head wrapped around the job.

So, in ways, this season feels like it could be the true test of what’s to come with Portland and this job and my career. I feel like I’ve taken steps to make the work better for me (getting rid of the old random furniture in the office and replaced it with things and supplies that work for me). I’ve done more cleaning. I’ve ordered supplies ahead of the game. I have my paperwork ready to go.

I don’t feel lost or confused (or more than normal).

While I’m weary of giving up the flexibility of the summer schedule, I am ready to start moving again. (I’m also ready to end this weirdly HOT and dry weather we’ve been having here.) I’m ready to be busy. I’m ready for some challenges. I’m ready.

This season, I hope to feel more comfortable in the job and the workload.

This season, I hope to discover (and like) Portland more.

This season, I hope to make contacts at other theaters.

This season, I hope to make some friends that don’t all work in this building with me.

This season, I hope to make time for the gym regularly.

This season, I hope to keep working on my own side projects and art.

This season, I hope to finish Phase 1 of this project (maybe in April).

This season, I hope to do something solely for fun.

This season, I hope to understand that this is my job and not my life.

This season, I hope to work on my life and passions.

Funny how working full-time in a theater has made me discover that I like working in theater, but my theater job isn’t my passion.

This season, I hope to discover what that sentence means.

Okay, off to make that To Do List.

Ciao.

One thought on “Block 728: July 22, 2015

Please leave a reply!

