Block 719: July 13, 2015

IMG_1049

A year ago today, three movers came to my Washington Heights apartment and started to pack all the 90 boxes and random pieces of furniture left into a truck to be driven across the country to Portland, Oregon. I had less than 40 hours before I was scheduled to board a plane with The Dog and start a new job.

Date: July 13, 2015

Crane: 719

Days Spent on Project: 874

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Xavier P.

I was in residence in Conway, Arkansas for a full month. I needed that entire time to fit the costumes, have some made, find all the clothes, have the alterations done in the shop, do notes, tech, and then open that production of Pippin. While I was in Conway, I was housed in an off-campus university apartment that was a 10 minute walk to the theater and the costume shop.

That apartment was a two bedroom. When I arrived in May, I was told to expect a roommate much later in the summer.

My roommate ended up being the lighting designer for the two shows that were performing in the main space on campus. He had negotiated with the directors involved NOT to be there for the full production time. He would arrive two weeks in, work his magic quickly, and then leave.

Out of all the people involved in the Company, he had somehow managed to get the best deal. He was MIA for most of the design conversations and discussions for the shows he was hired to design.

Living with him was interesting. We discovered, within a few days, that we DID know each other; he and I were both assisting designers on Fela! when it opened on Broadway. We, therefore, ran in similar circles and experiences.

I got the impression, soon after, that didn’t mean much to him.

Anyway… he’s now working at a university somewhere… teaching lighting design.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve had PJ Harvey’s album “To Bring You My Love” on today and it has been on repeat. Can’t believe that album is 20 years old this year… and that I was obsessed with it THEN as a 16 year old.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Today is the start of a new regime!

Out with the old (energy) and in with the new (energy)… just had my first meeting with my new supervisor and I feel like I’ll be able to breathe somewhat easier in the next season… and that I’ll be working with someone who wants to work with me rather than not.

I cannot wait.

Here’s hoping the next season, which will be trying at times, will feel much better in general. Thank goodness for the rookie year being done.

Please leave a reply!

