Block 712: July 6, 2015

IMG_0968

Mondays after a three day weekend are the WORST. Not really.

But kinda.

Date: July 6, 2015

Crane: 712

Days Spent on Project: 867

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: When I flew out to Conway, Arkansas in January 2014 for that weird weekend of production meetings, I was one of two designers who could actually make it. The other costume designers were weather-delayed or busy. The other scenic designers hadn’t been hired. The lighting and sound designers were MIA.

The other designer present that weekend, the scenic, was Jeff K.

Over that weekend, one where I had nothing to do but kill time, Jeff and I hung out a lot. As we wrapped up the meetings and were driven back to the Little Rock airport to get to our respective destinations (Chicago for me, mine was New York), we both learned that a polar vortex was settling in the midwest and was about to attack the east coast. Both our flights were delayed for a bit, so we had some time to catch dinner. And then catch a drink. And then wander the airport. His flight was eventually cancelled, and he went back to Conway to spend the night. My flight was one of the few to make it out… arriving late in Atlanta, before being stranded there for a day.

When I returned to Conway later in May, it was good to reconnect with him. Of all the people I met down in Conway, he’s the one person I’ve stayed in touch with as I made the transition to Portland. He’s heard about all the bumps coming to Portland from New York, just as I’ve heard about all the drama of designing in Chicago and his girlfriend issues over the past year.

If each design experience that I have on my resume (and/or in my career) introduces me to people I want to stay in touch with, Jeff was the person I needed to meet in Arkansas.

Music I listened to while sewing: Decided to switch things up a bit this morning and listened to music from Sleep No More. I haven’t done that in a while; that music brings up so many good memories!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Well, the new season has started at work. The work emails, which slowed down to a non-existent pace in the past month, have reactivated and delivered a lot of information about the work that approaches. So, in a way, it’s nice to see things start up.

It’s really time to put the 2014-2015 season to bed, once and for all!

Here we go, 2015-2016… what kind of adventures do you hold in store for us?

And, before it gets too crazy, I’ll say that I’m taking a three day work-vacation starting tomorrow. I’ll be traveling to the coast once again to start brainstorming how to make another go-round of The California Project happen. Maybe it’s in Portland? Maybe it’s in Los Angeles?

If I needed something fun to happen to look forward to, the next 72 hours will be my opportunity to lay the groundwork.

Please leave a reply!

