Block 709: July 3, 2015

IMG_0931

Guess who slept in until 1pm today?

Date: July 3, 2015

Crane: 709

Days Spent on Project: 864

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: After those 17 days spent in Los Angeles and Irvine, California, in which Vinnie and I put together (with the help of almost two dozen students) a small workshop of The California Project, I had to leave sadly and head out to Conway, Arkansas for a month. The production of Pippin I had been designing would be starting rehearsals soon, and it was time to make that show happen.

That month in Conway was interesting. The company I was working with was just under 10 years old. It was a summer Shakespeare Festival, with four shows happening in rep. It seemed to be fully staffed, and the work they were doing was ambitious. I’m not sure what I think or thought of the experience, other than it happened, and in some ways it was the event that pushed me towards this job in Portland and the end (for now?) of my freelance design career.

But that wasn’t my first time in Conway, the previous January, just five months before, I was asked to fly there over a weekend for a round of production meetings. It seemed like an interesting use of money- there were snow storms up and down the east coast and I was one of the very few people who actually arrived. We ended up having a Skype meeting with the rest of the team… who was stuck in New York. (We could all have gone to a Starbucks and talked in person in New York City, but… whatever.) When I tried to fly back home, I was stuck in the Little Rock airport for a while, then the Atlanta airport for over a day, then had to fly to Richmond, VA to take a train home since there was no way to get back to the New York area for days! It was quite the travel experience.

Maybe I should have seen that adventure of harbingers of fun yet to come. I don’t know.

Anyway, the first person I met on that January trip was Geneva G. She was the company manager for the festival. It was her second summer there– I think she had just finished college– and she was excited to be returning in the position she had. I know that she was planning on moving to Chicago at the end of the summer, and I believe she did do so.

Music I listened to while sewing: Did you know if you listen to the deluxe version of Sia’s latest album, there are a bunch of remixes and acoustic versions of her more popular songs? Well, now you do!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: We’re in the middle of a heat wave in Portland. It’s been in the high 90s for more than a week or two. I’m growing a little tired of it…

I’ll know I’ve made it in Life when two things happen. One, when I live in apartment or home where I can control the thermostat and make it as cool as I want it and also not care about the electric bills. Two, when I own a washer and dryer of my own and I can wash clothes whenever I darn well please.

Okay, time to sit in front of a fan for a while.

Please leave a reply!

