Block 703: June 27, 2015

IMG_0913

Another scorcher in Portland today.

Date: June 27, 2015

Crane: 703

Days Spent on Project: 858

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Jeremy H.

When Vinnie and I started talking about what it would take to mount a small workshop of sorts at UCI, he brought up one student that he thought would be a good asset in a project like this. That student was Jeremy H.

Jeremy was a good source of energy, passion, and curiosity about the project and what we wanted to do. Both Vinnie and I agreed, after a few rehearsals, which character Jeremy should play. He seemed physically right. He seemed like he could dig into the depths of what that character could be and should be. He seemed like someone who could flesh out some of the questions and ideas within that character.

By the end of the rehearsal process and the two performances we gave, it was really fascinating to watch Jeremy work with what we gave him. Out of all the male characters in that workshop, and in the piece, his is the most fleshed out in my mind. His is the good journey that I’d want people to follow. While everyone else around him seems to swirl into darkness, I think he manages to stay light for as long as he can.

Jeremy’s commitment to the work was pretty great. He graduated from UCI last year, I believe, and he’s been managing to do a variety of work around LA. It will be interesting to see what happens to him and how he develops as an actor in the coming years.

Music I listened to while sewing: Today, I didn’t listen to music. I listened to President Obama’s eulogy given for the reverend who was killed last week in South Carolina. Incredibly moving, you have to admit that Obama knows how to speak effectively.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Well, today, I woke up in a nation where I could get legally married in any of the United States. And, even though that likely won’t happen for me, the knowledge that that possibility exists makes the world feel a little different.

I’d like it to happen. But, we’ll see.

Okay, it’s Saturday night. And, even though it’s ungodly hot right now, I have to get myself to the gym. I need to run in place for a spell and work some things out.

Please leave a reply!

