Block 699: June 23, 2015

IMG_0889

Another day, another day, another day.

Date: June 23, 2015

Crane: 699

Days Spent on Project: 854

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Joe R.

Joe was another one of the students who worked with us on The California Project last spring. He was especially excited to be working on it, and I liked his commitment to the project. He always had ideas, was willing to try things, and then rehearse rehearse rehearse things until he felt they were good enough for the small workshop.

Plus, he offered to help out our costume designer who needed an extra pair of hands, doing some notes to make all the clothes fit correctly. He even went so far as to suggest some accessories and ideas that might help him and his character. Totally not his call (ask the designer!), but I enjoyed the enthusiasm he had with the character and the project.

Vinnie and I ended up giving him one of the major, initial characters. Even though he has a large stake in the beginning of The Backstory, he doesn’t really have a lot to do. Things happen to him, he learns other things, he reacts majorly to one thing, and that sets in motion a big series of events. During the workshop, I felt we hadn’t fleshed him out enough. But, at the same time, I started to realize that the interesting parts of the story happened around him.

I know he’s an important character. I can’t wait to figure out how we can make him appear to be.

Music I listened to while sewing: Well, more of Galantis today. Although I think it’s time to start finding something new.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Hm.

HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM.

I need another vacation from this place. Stat.

I only have to remind myself that I am not stuck in Portland at this job. There are other things. There will be other things. There will be other things. There will be other things.

An opportunity is only an opportunity if it gives you something.

Yes, I get a paycheck here.

But at what cost is that paycheck?

Please leave a reply!

