Block 697: June 21, 2015

IMG_0873

Happy Father’s Day!

Date: June 21, 2015

Crane: 697

Days Spent on Project: 852

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Kayleigh M.

When Vinnie and I started to brainstorm possible ideas for an immersive theater experiment in 2013, we started with a very simple idea. We then started tried to figure out ways into that idea… who were these people? what was the situation? how were they all tied together? At first, the ideas remained rather visual– we’re both designers, after all– but then they started to coalesce around a family and their eventual unravelling.

Kayleigh M.’s character would be, and is, important as the story started to finalize. She would be– probably– one of two characters the audience could easily identify with and feel for. Her track was rather innocent; things would be done unto her and those actions would eventually lead to the story’s end.

Kayleigh was quietly involved with the rehearsal progress. She was also eager to throw ideas into the mix and play around with suggestions and ideas. She did bring work to the table, which helped us a lot; I believe, by working with her, Vinnie and I understood how dark everyone else was and therefore how necessary she would be as a light for the viewers to hold onto. It’s something I will have to continue to flesh out and understand as the story gets more clearly understood, but I still think that will be her most important contribution to the piece.

She’ll be someone that the audience will want to hunt for. And I think I have a way of making that even more apparent.

Music I listened to while sewing: Today I started out listening to Brandon Flowers, from The Killers, but I got distracted by Galantis halfway through… No idea who they are, but they’re pretty fun!

Brandon Flowers is too.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: The 2014-2015 season officially ended today around 4:30. I was taking a nap at the time.

I made it through this season somewhat unscathed, more experienced, and more aware of what’s to come. Here’s hoping we can continue to make some progress…

Please leave a reply!

