Block 696: June 20, 2015

IMG_0870

I’m having a very lazy Saturday.

Date: June 20, 2015

Crane: 696

Days Spent on Project: 851

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Continuing along with the actors involved in that small workshop of The California Project… Jessica K.

Jessica K. possibly came to the workshop with the most understanding- besides Karli B. and Christopher R.- of the theater style we were trying to emulate. She was a UCI student by way of London, England and so she was familiar with immersive work and even Punchdrunk!

She was one of the characters that I believe will eventually play a larger role in the whole of The California Project. She would be more of a catalyst and presence in the later chapters, towards the end of the story. I’m not sure if we learned much about the character’s arc from the workshop, or if we held true to the ideas that we started with. We- Vinnie and I and all the students- did use this character as our bridge between the “real world” of the audience and the world of the story. That was a good experiment for me: to see how we could use a character as a part of the audience, a viewer themselves, that would bring us into the evening’s event. It gave her a concrete mission to accomplish.

But, seeing how we ended the evening, we never resolved her quest. She started it and relived it and kept trying, but there was never that moment of “Yes, I’ve found it” that I know she would need in the context of a more finished piece.

Music I listened to while sewing: “The Top 100 Tracks on Spotify Today.” So much pop music I have no idea about.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Well, almost a month ago, we opened our 11th and final show of the season. It was on May 22nd; the shop finished out their contract for the season, with a starting date of August 3rd for the next season.

Tomorrow, June 21st, the 11th and final show of the season closes. That’s the last day for the wardrobe department for the season. They’ll also re-start in early August.

Can you believe the season will officially end in less than 24 hours? And that I survived?

I had dinner with my friend Chloe last night on the east side, the trendy side, of Portland. I’ve known her for about a dozen years now, and it’s very nice that she moved here for a job months after I did. She’s having a completely different experience here; she’s teaching at a liberal arts college, submerged in academia, and making good connections over there. It’s nice to have a connection here that’s longer than a few months. Knowing someone from a similar background, who knows people you do, and has a similar aesthetic… I’m very thankful for that.

I did not get to the gym today. I’m exhausted. I don’t know why. I don’t remember being so tired in New York that whenever I sat down I would nod off. I hope it just means that I’m relaxed.

No other big revelations today. Maybe there will be some tomorrow!

Please leave a reply!

