Block 694: June 18, 2015

IMG_0856

Sometimes, it’s really hard to understand how and why things happen in the world.

Date: June 18, 2015

Crane: 694

Days Spent on Project: 849

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Time to move onto the actors that were involved in The California Project.

We’ll start with Dan K.

Dan wasn’t a theater student at UCI, if I’m remembering correctly. He somehow got wind of that workshop, and asked to be a part of it. I don’t think he knew what he was getting into, although he was more than game and capable for it all.

When Vinnie and I were looking at our group of 12 students, and thinking of all the potential characters we could explore, we chose a section of The Backstory that seemed the most fleshed out. Dan’s character was someone I’d refer to as a secondary or tertiary character. He was involved with a portion of the Backstory, moving the action along for a period, and then would be taken out of the equation kind of abruptly… only to be brought back later in the story (that later story would have involved the next few chapters and another character in the Later Backstory). I think his character would become important, if we had had more resources at our disposal. But, by choosing to focus on what we could, most of Dan’s business became about watching and seeing action- sometimes noticeably and other times not. In that regard, he could have seemed unimportant, but I felt like he was a stand-in for the audience/viewer/participant in our event.

Which is an important figure to have… someone who could help draw people into the world and show them how to operate there.

In the next go round, I know who the Audience Stand In is. She will be the one to bring them to the place, to the world, and will have her own journey in the event.

Dan’s character will be there, sure, but he’ll be back to being the catalyst for one series of unfortunate events that end the first chapter.

Music I listened to while sewing: Spotify suggested The Ultimate Workout this morning. It seemed like a good idea, but then it quickly devolved into a lot of Jennifer Lopez and Britney Spears… of about 5-7 years ago. Meh.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I came into work today at noon. I just wanted to make sure no emails were sent out last night and this morning. None were.

I’ve been here for two hours, and I feel like I’m about to leave. I don’t have anything to do, so why not.

There are times when I can’t fathom how different my life is now, just a year after leaving New York City.

On a side note: one of my good friends in NYC just texted this morning to say she and her boyfriend eloped a few months ago… and that they are expecting their first child at the end of the year. Wow. Why does it seem like everyone is partnering up and getting pregnant?

(Where’s my partner?)

Please leave a reply!

