Block 684: June 7, 2015

IMG_0706

It’s 9:20pm. Made it!

Date: June 7, 2015

Crane: 684

Days Spent on Project: 838

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Iris G.

If I think back, the first student to join the The California Project’s Team was actually, probably Iris G.

Vinnie brought her on board pretty quickly, and she signed on for the work pretty quickly. She would be an assistant director who would help the process along, help watch rehearsals, take notes, add ideas, and hopefully help the student actors we were working with create some of their own material.

Vinnie and I quickly learned that with a cast of 12, and possibly 3 or 4 things happening simultaneously in different areas of the performance spaces, that we had to delegate a lot of the directing responsibilities. We’d divide ourselves into four groups, and each tackle different sections. It was crazy; in a situation where I wanted to watch and facilitate a lot of it– I wanted to learn about it all– I had to step back and focus on what was in front of me and then trust that other students would bring workable material to the table, and on their own.

Iris had an abundance of energy and dedication towards the project. One of our way early production meetings, between myself and Vinnie and Iris, she had obviously read the what I was terming The Backstory, and she had notes. She identified with sections and wanted clarity and more. Other times, she was confused. She was really helpful in that regard. She was probably the first person to get the draft of what Vinnie and I had been creating for a year, and she had thought out responses.

She was good support for us, and I’m glad that Vinnie found a way to entice her to work on the project.

Music I listened to while sewing: I decided to listen to more of ASTR today on Spotify. So far, so good.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: My parents decided a month ago that they would take a week to drive across the country from Richmond, Virginia to Portland, Oregon. They arrived in town at 4:30pm, with their two dogs, and have settled in a dog-friendly hotel in Tigard for the week. They drove over 3,000 miles with two dogs, visiting my brother in Pittsburgh, conducting some farm business in Indiana, just for kicks.

How cool is that? How lucky am I that my parents are able and ambitious enough to do something like that?

Please leave a reply!

