Block 676: May 30, 2015

IMG_0683

A bit behind today despite (or because of) my best intentions. Incredibly distracted by anything at the moment.

Date: May 30, 2015

Crane: 676

Days Spent on Project: 830

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Brad B.

This one is a long one, and a very random, coincidental Crane… if ever there was one.

When I flew out to LA for that weekend getaway in November 2013, Brad was out with us on that Friday night in West Hollywood. He was one of my friend Dave’s oldest (i.e. longest) friends; they had gone to college together in Florida.

But, here’s the thing: Brad was from Indiana. I am. When I was a sophomore in college, I got a summer job in the Northwest corner of Indianapolis (a 45 minute drive away from my house) at Old Navy. It was a new store, still an exciting place to work (this was the mid-90s, after all), and they were hiring a lot of college age kids to fill their ranks.

Brad was one of the other people I worked with there. He was entrusted with cashier duties all the time, while I was usually relegated to the sales floor. (I was good convincing people to buy things.) Brad was going to school in Florida, and I knew that.

Fast forward two years, when I meet Dave in Louisville. He talked about one of his friends- Brad- a few times. I didn’t put it together.

Fast forward 12 years, when I’m visiting Dave in Los Angeles and re-meet Brad in West Hollywood, and learn that was the Brad Dave would talk about, the Brad I worked with in Indianapolis.

Small world, huh?

He only hung out with us that one weekend evening, sadly.

But, fast forward to January 2014, when I get a call from Dave. Brad was in New York, producing a show in Roseland. He needed someone to wardrobe the experience. It would be two days of work. I could quote what fee I wanted. It should be pretty standard and easy.

Not having any work, I said yes. Brad called me, we discussed logistics, and I met him and his producing associate that weekend to help dress an ensemble of dancers. Like you do.

Not sure if or how I’ll run into Brad again, but I’m sure it will happen again. (I didn’t run into him when I visited LA in April/May 2014…)

Music I listened to while sewing: Maybe listening to the “Dance All Day” playlist for the (how many?) consecutive day in a row isn’t helping my focus. Or maybe it is.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Today is just going to be one of those days where I stare at my to-do list and promptly ignore it.

Sometimes you just have to change plans repeatedly and enjoy the weather and people around you.

More to talk about tomorrow, but I need to get back on track for the day…

Please leave a reply!

