Block 651: May 5, 2015

IMG_0568

I dropped both my contacts on the floor this morning, effectively ruining them. I have no more disposables to replace them with, so I’m wearing glasses to work…

In the past, without insurance, I’d have no options to go to a doctor and replace them. But, I now have insurance and I just booked an appointment for today.

So, today I’m grateful to have insurance.

Date: May 5, 2015

Crane: 651

Days Spent on Project: 805

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Paul D.

I didn’t meet very many of the people involved in the Lincoln Center Lab back in 2013, but I did meet Paul.

He was a set designer, assigned to work with another group, but we chatted a few times when there were meetings for the entire group. It turns out we had a friend in common, Ellie H., which we didn’t realize until a few months later when she asked the two of us to work on a web-series that she was directing.

I’m really fascinated with Paul. I don’t know much about him, but he works all the time and on big shows and with big people. And I feel like he’s a younger designer than I am. I’m always curious how some people get swept into the mix so easily.

Music I listened to while sewing: We have Tom Waits on in the shop this morning.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: It’s another slow, slow day here at work. Thankfully, I think I’m going to get myself to the eye doctor to get new contacts… I feel so off with my glasses on, if that makes any sense.

Please leave a reply!

