Block 649: May 3, 2015

IMG_0563

I think I had an “I’m an old person” moment last night. I could figure out how to get my DVD player to work.

Granted, I haven’t used it in over a year, but still…

Date: May 3, 2015

Crane: 649

Days Spent on Project: 803

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Bruno.

Bruno was another one of the directors that I worked with at the Lincoln Center Lab in 2013.

He was also visiting the states from a different country; if my memory serves me well, he came to New York City from Brazil.

He was a younger director. From what I understood, he only had one directing credit on his resume.

And you know what? Working with him- when he and I started to discuss the theoretical production of the play we were given- working with him was amazing. His ideas would seemingly come sneaking up behind you from left field, surprising you and leaving you a little taken aback. But, that strange “Where is this going” approach was surprisingly effective.

He brought the name of an artist- Fred Sandback- who was a sculptor that became most famous for his usage of string to create shapes within a space. (That’s a simplified description of his work) Looking at images of Sandback’s creations on line (and then going to The Strand immediately after to find the one book available on him) was beautiful, but how would that simple 2D/3D approach work with a play that seemed all about texture and depth and song and poetry and humanity.

It was so weird that I really wanted to work on it. Out of the three presentations I had to give, the one for Bruno’s play was the most fleshed out and interesting and exciting. I really would have loved to work on that piece. Heck, Bruno is a director I would have loved to work with on something real.

I wish I knew what Bruno was doing in Brazil.

So, from Bruno I’d have to say that I learned (re-learned) that sometimes it’s okay to investigate something from new and unexpected ways. Sometimes, different and unexpected and simple can be beautiful and perfect.

Ming Cho Lee, at the Yale School of Drama in our many design classes, would say “If you want to be bold, be bold.”

And sometimes bold is simple.

It was good to re-learn that lesson.

Music I listened to while sewing: Alexander McQueen’s “Deliverance” is playing on YouTube in the background.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I don’t think I have much to say today. It’s Sunday, and the theater is closing one show this afternoon as another show starts previews and another show will start tech rehearsals next week.

We’re so close to having opening 11 shows in 9 months.

Then, onto summer.

Please leave a reply!

